Yesterday I bought a rose

13dougal

My best friend Dougal died yesterday.

I didn’t know if to post this, as I know this means nothing to anyone but those who knew Dougal but I felt I needed to tell him I loved him one last time.  It was going to be his 14th birthday next month.

We got him from a rescue centre when he was about 1 year old, and he has been our best friend ever since.

Dougal,  a Labradoodle – named after the Magic Roundabout character, as he had very long hair when we first got him. He loved playing in rivers and digging for stones and always came out with a rock he could barely fit in his mouth. He outlived all of his friends and was lucky to have been very well travelled, as mum and dad got a motorhome when me and my brother left home. His last adventure was a month travelling around Scotland.

I love my mum and dad, but Dougal was who I really missed when I left home 5 years ago. And he’s the reason I went back so regularly.

My mum is heartbroken I know, so it was very hard for her to leave him, but he’s in my garden now (a place he loved to play) under an apricot coloured rose.

Goodbye Dougal x x

Gallery | This entry was posted in My personal ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yesterday I bought a rose

  1. cristina says:

    How sad…the thing that you can be happy about is that you gave him the best life he could have had! And that´s wonderful. 🙂

  2. vuchickens says:

    So sorry for your loss. 😦

  3. I’m so sorry for your loss, it sounds like Dougal was well loved and I’m sure he knew it. Keep thinking of the happy times, I hope that helps you through this terribly difficult time.

  4. Pat(ricia) says:

    My heart goes out to you and your family. It’s so difficult to lose a treasured and well loved family member. Try to take comfort in the good memories. I know it can be difficult at first, but it does get easier with time.

Leave a Reply

