I don’t like Mondays, I’d rather knit, or even crochet….

Urgh, Monday again. Annoyingly the sun has even come out this morning after a downpour yesterday. Not that I really minded a wet Sunday as I had booked on a workshop at Woolyknit one of my nearest and dearest (loved not expensive) wool shops.

I love Woolyknit as they sell only British yarn, all locally source, scoured,  spun and dyed. And its a big store with a beautiful cafe which backs onto the canal and so it attracts folk not really interested in wool to eat in the only cafe in the village. (So if you find yourself in Saddleworth you must seek them out.)

I’d originally booked on a colour knitting workshop in the afternoon in order to improve and learn some new skills. However the weather was so rubbish that morning I headed out early for the international crocheting workshop too.

I’m not fabulous at crocheting but quite like it to create little things and definitely like it for its portability. Along with socks its the only thing I’d consider taking on public transport.

Here are some pics of the results of a very productive morning….

DSCF4122

This is Tunisian crocheting which, I found much easier to maintain a square shape when creating a swatch, (crocheting usually tapers off to a triangle in my experience). The bottom 5 lines are plain crocheting stitch with the fatter blue and red rows above being treble stitch rows. I might get around to a demo blog for this technique since there isn’t many books out there for Tunisian crocheting although there is a few patterns on Ravelry.

We also had a go at Irish crocheting, which if you like lace is very pretty. To be honest I’d done something similar to this previously but hadn’t realized it was Irish crocheting.

DSCF4119

DSCF4120

Irish crocheting is really about the effect created, which is open and lacy and has lots of picots. It takes a bit of patience but is quite addictive. So I’ve now created a pretty pink doily! I think my boyfriend might be unimpressed if I start filling the house with doilies!

Trouble is its Monday and I have to get some work done now.

Gallery | This entry was posted in My personal ramblings, Things I've made and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I don’t like Mondays, I’d rather knit, or even crochet….

  1. Verónica says:

    I am pleased to nominate you for the Wonderful Team Member Readership Award. I enjoy reading your blog and glad you have stopped by mine! Here’s a link for more details: http://agujasblog.com/2013/07/29/i-love-giving-out-blog-awards/

Leave a Reply

