Colour work swatches and two awards

Colourwork always brings a bit of dread to my knitting, not because I can’t do it but because I find myself getting tense as I knit.  I’m keen to make the effort to knit baubles and stockings this Christmas so in between projects I’ve knitted a few swatches.

I hope there’s other knitters out there already thinking about what can be knitted between now and Christmas coz if there isn’t I’ll feel like perhaps the summer heat is sending me mad!

DSCF4124

The blue and white is a traditional fair isle method and the red is swiss darned (sewing the red stitches over the white knitted section), which is so simple I have to wonder why people do fairisle at all…  It wasn’t until I started doing the swiss darning that I realised that I had got very tense in my arms and neck doing the fairisle.

Tuesday I received a lovely comment from Agujas who had nominated my for the Wonderful Team member award. Its taken me a few days to log on and in between I’ve also received the Liebster awards from Monsteryarns. I feel very honoured they have read my blog and consider it worthy and whilst I know that these are the virtual equivalent of the chain letters I used to get at school, the fact that I’ve never met either of these bloggers and they chose me still feels like an honour.

So here I go sharing the love and if nothing else this is a great way to share blogs with you which you might not have come across. For the Wonderful team member award I nominate the following 14 blogs:

1. Suzoo’s Wool works

2. niceandknit.com

3. letissierdesigns.com

4. A tangled yarn

5. Thrifty Finn

6. introverted knitter

7. Knitting Sarah

8. etherealworkshop

9. Hooky Queen

10. Mamaflutterby

11. Nothing but knit

12. Heart and a half 

13. Always time to procraftinate

14. craft pants Mcgee

If i’ve nominated you for this award you can display this image on your blog and you need to nominate 14 of your favourite blogs and link back to this one. Go spread the love, don’t forget to tell them you’ve nominated them!

image

Now to the Liebster awards, which is apparently German for Lovely blog award. For this Monsteryarns set me a list of questions to answer so here I go:

1. Knitting or Crocheting and why?

Well I like both, but i would always choose knitting first as I find I can’t crochet and watch tv like I can knit so it wins by virtue of being able to multi-task!

2. Cats and dogs and why?

Always dogs. I’ve had two, with Dougal only leaving me in the last month and I can’t imagine having such a genuinely loving relationship with a cat, they are too self reliant. I had loads of fun, adventures and love from Dougal who was my best friend for many years.

3. Three items I couldn’t be without on a desert island.

I’ve had to think about this carefully. Its tempting to use up 2 with wool and needles, but then that wouldn’t provide long term joy. I’m also boringly practical, but resisting the urge to go all out with Tom-hanks-castaway items, I would choose: 1. a penknife – so i can whittle knitting needles from trees, and cut vegetation into yarn (I’ve read somewhere that’s possible… I may have imagined it!), 2. a huge hat as I’m prone to burning in the sun (I’m assuming I’m not on a deserted Scottish island) and 3. Mr Monkey (my gravatar image) as he has travelled far and wide with me and if I do go mad like Tom Hanks then I’m at least talking to my childhood stuff toy and not a football/ coconut.

4. Do I have brothers/sisters?

Yes, I have 1 younger brother.

5. why blog?

Oh, good question. I started as I wanted to share my knitting woes and successes with others, and whilst I do go to two knitting groups, my wider circle of friends don’t necessarily appreciate the time, effort and sometimes pain that goes into creating something. Its also a great way of getting new ideas and getting feedback.

6. Am i glass half empty or half full person?

Half full. I do get frustrated but generally I’m quite good at making the most of bad situations and generally I’m quite positive.

7. Should a man put the toilet seat down or does it not bother me?

Yes they should!

8. Do you still hand write letters?

No i have to confess i don’t. but I always send friends really birthday or Christmas cards and not virtual ones.

So the Liebster award is a very complicated one to pass on but the aim is to promote others blogs. I’m going to nominate 6 bloggers and ask them to answer the following 6 questions. They can then choose to pass this on to 5 – 11 other blogs and choose questions for them to answer.

1. adventures of my sewing needle

2. Work in progress girl

3. Nerdbroidery

4. brandicrochet’s blog 

5. Special things

6. Geek guy knitting

here are your 6 questions, don’t forget to link back so we can read them! and do post the award image on your blog.

1. How many hours a week do you get to do your craft?

2. What’s your favourite place in the whole wide world?

3. What’s your favourite song and favourite movie?

4. what’s the best gift you’ve ever received?

5. What was the last thing you watched on tv?

6. Describe your ideal day.

Gallery | This entry was posted in My personal ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Colour work swatches and two awards

  1. monsteryarns says:

    I’m knitting Christmas stockings. We may both be a bit “touched by the sun 🙂
    Mine are plain and done on a loom for a beginners pattern so not as lovely as your colour work!

  2. Thank you for nominating me! I like being able to share creations and family and life. I appreciate your comment and your nomination!
    -Crafty P.

  3. Jenny says:

    I’ve always been scared by fairisle, but I might just have to give this Swiss darning a go. Thanks!

  4. Errol says:

    Wow, now I have to find more than two other knitting blogs! Good grief! ^_^ THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE NOMINATION! 😀

  5. Rene says:

    Thank you for the nomination! I appreciate it. 🙂

    Ha ha Christmas. I’m still finishing last year’s Christmas presents. >__<

  6. Pingback: Youtube channel launch on it’s way and Awards!!!! | etherealworkshop

Leave a Reply

