Knitted for others, but I want them

A few weeks ago my best friend lent me the Studio Ghibli film ‘my friend Totoro’. 20 minutes after loading the dvd I’d found the English dubbed version amidst the riddle of japanese text on the menu. If you haven’t seen it I definitely recommend it. She is also invited me to join her for a week in Asturias in Spain soon so I had to find her something to say thank you. So here is Totoro!

DSCF4508

I chose Catharine’s pattern from Ravelry as I just didn’t think I could concentrate for long enough to be able to crochet him. The pattern is easy to knit, I think I’ve overstuffed him though as he’s a bit too round.

I also started knitted another cowl in Paton’s Mirage which I had in my stash. I hadn’t expect how blue it would end up since the ball looks mostly yellow and orange on the outside. I’m knitting this for my Etsy shop but part of me wants it for myself! The yarn is gorgeous to knit with, being 50% bamboo, and I do like the stitch definition.

DSCF4510

Gallery | This entry was posted in Things I've made and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Knitted for others, but I want them

  1. Cinn says:

    Gorgeous yarn and I agree, the stitch definition is great.

  2. Rene says:

    Ah, Totoro! I was thrilled when my son loved that movie–it means I get to watch it more. Your knitted Totoro is adorable. I love the colorway of the bamboo yarn–it might have been kind of a surprise, but it’s lovely.

  3. Pingback: Panorama of our 1500 sq ft STEM Sewing & Design Studio <3 | CraftyStitches Studio

  4. Pia says:

    Very cheerful yarn, I like it with the blue. It’s going to light up many dreary November days..

  5. lily8176 says:

    Asturias is looking lovely just now, have a good trip!

Leave a Reply

