what could I knit with nearly 7 miles?

A sore arm has led me to discovering something interesting tonight. Or worrying, depending on how you look at it.

I’ve had to go for travel injections today for a trek next month, which has left my right arm sore enough I don’t want to knit. Ok, that’s not right, I do want to, but it aches. It’s like the tennis elbow all over again. Only less painful and higher up my arm. It’ll be fine in the morning, or I’ll knit tomorrow anyway.

So, with a sore arm and feeling knackered from a cocktail of immunisations, I found myself sat on the craft room floor (I’ve officially renamed the spare room the craft room, since that pretty much all it has in it).

I wasn’t sat on the floor feeling sorry for myself, but having a moment winding some more yarn which is wrapped around my chair and is slowly being made into usable balls. I’ve had no knotty incidents this time, but I have ended up with 4 HUGE balls of wool from this one rather large hank, which doesn’t seem to be going down. Not bad for Ā£5 at Woolfest! And I still haven’t finished winding.

That got me thinking though, I have an awful lot of wool cleverly hidden in ikea storage boxes. So I had a rummage to remind myself what there was. And being a bit prone to organising things at times, I made a rough list of what was in there so I could find some projects on Ravelry.

I then decided to work out the yardage of the yarn in case I found patterns and needed to know the yardage. I discovered that just from the yarn in the storage boxes I have 6.8 miles (or just short of 11km) of yarn!!!Ā  And this is just the yarns I’ve deemed lovely and special – not the rubbish acrylic yarn for quick projects of which there is another box entirely.

About half of the stash

About half of the stash

Perhaps my boyfriend is right, maybe I do have too much. I should at least find something to knit with it all and not just keep it hidden away. Its mostly double knit of various types and fibres and quite a bit of lovely coloured sock yarn.

Time to have a look at patterns….

Gallery | This entry was posted in Things I've made and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to what could I knit with nearly 7 miles?

  1. itwasjudith says:

    lol, this post has made me go to my ravelry (partial) stash and do a quick sum…. probably it’s better not to disclose the results šŸ˜‰ worrisome

  2. Cinn says:

    I didnt’ sum up my yarn, but I did verify the inventory via Ravelry. I had to add some things and adjust the yardage on some. Minus the acrylic, not really up to going through that box.

  3. I think I’ve got you beat!lol But I think Ravelry is your best choice matching yarn to project.

  4. KerryCan says:

    That’s a lotta yarn! Just think of the fun you’ll have!

  5. soknitsome says:

    The answer? Lots. When I looked at my stash on Ravelry I had nearly 8 miles.That’s over 40 pairs of socks or a dozen sweaters (if it were all the same kind!). I agree with the knitterly Hooker – Ravelry is great for matching yarn to project!

  6. vuchickens says:

    christmas presents? šŸ™‚

  7. iknead2knit says:

    Your poor arm! My dad was career navy and we had to get immunizations updated every other year or so. I still remember how they made my arms ache! Thanks for reading and following!

Leave a Reply

