One craft swap done, now on to the next one!

Did I forget about the stress of thinking of things to make for people I didn’t know? In the end the craft swap I participated in turned out to be a mixed blessing.

Instructions from Margaret at WeBloomHere: make something flat for 2 people you don’t know for a fixed deadline. Sounds simple, right? Except my mind went blank. Flicking through the endless craft books didn’t help – what would they like? If they craft themselves will they consider them a bit rubbish?

After much debating here is what I created:

2014-03-18 08 27 36 (2)

This petunia brooch has headed off to Lenore in Oregon to bring share a bit of British springtime to the US.

2014-03-18 08 29 06 (2) 2014-03-18 08 29 12 (2)

The mittens have headed off to Jo in Gloucestershire just in time for the recent cold snap. They were knitted in the round and the flowers crocheted separately and sewn on. The stalks were crocheted directly on to the mittens.

Despite the initial anxiety of making something for a stranger, the swap turned into a real pleasure. I’d had a bad day at work and had only an evening of tv and knitting to cheer me up – when I got home and found my first swap gift hanging out of my letter box. It was exciting opening an envelope and not knowing what was inside! Jo had sent me a gorgeous handmade wall hanging, which is now displayed on my bedroom door.The flowers are fabric and the heart hand painted wood and decorated with beads.

Jo- Gloucestershire

I had a week or so to wait before receiving the surprise I got from Lenore, but on Tuesday with lots of love from Oregon I received this wonderful gift. I have had a little emotional rollercoaster of a day, of feeling in need of a hug or a kiss and my boyfriend being so far away there is no hug on the immediate horizon until the weekend (long distance relationships are hard and I’m still struggling with knowing how he feels and how I therefore feel).

So it made me so happy and feel so special to have a gift today, perfect timing – I certainly needed a smile, and I got this one!

Lenore USA

and inside I had this gorgeous cross stitched table cloth, crochet coasters and a quilting pattern kit!

Lenore USA 2

 

Lenore USA 3

I never knew the joy I could have got from total strangers, it makes me think I almost don’t need the hassle of relationships!! Ok, maybe I wouldn’t go that far, but I’m definitely a craft swap convert now.

And before this one was really done I had already signed up to Tinyowlknits magic yarn ball swap – I couldn’t resist, it just looked amazing and a great way to pass on some of my lovely stash and some lovely gifts too! (although it looks like my swapee might just get some yarn bought specially for her as I don’t have anything suitable in my stash – oh well, a visit to a yarn shop is never a chore).

Magic yarn balls sound like a great gift to give friends who knit or crochet though – check them out here on tinypurrs blog. Whatever I get from my swapee I’ll be super happy just for the lovely surprise from someone who’s taken time to think about me.

Image | This entry was posted in Things I've made and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One craft swap done, now on to the next one!

  1. KerryCan says:

    This certainly turned out well for you! The friendships developed from blogging are such a nice surprise!

Leave a Reply

