Yarn will save the day

Having had a rubbish end to the week in that I failed to get a second interview for my dream job and managed to get the flu too, there is only one thing I intend to do this weekend – that is picking up my knitting needles and finding solace in yarn (though I will fit in a spot of drinking and food with friends too if I’m less contagious).

Its been too long frankly since I spent quality time knitting and if the universe has other plans for me than finding a job and moving house then I am going to settle into the yarn stash and knit. I’ve been struggling to meditate regularly and I think if I just knit then it might have the same effect and if not I’ll at least finally finish the socks I’ve had on the go forever. (I doubt the shawl will be finished though the alpaca might make me sneeze.)

This week hasn’t been a total write off though. A friend from my knitting group – Wessenden woollies’ Sarah Alderson – has asked me to test knit a patterns for some lovely fingerless gloves which she plans to release early next year. When I’m allowed to share pictures I will do.

So I actually have a reason to knit now too. And perhaps buy yarn as well – since my yarn stash doesn’t feature much 4 ply and certainly not in the right colourway. (Come on, its been ages since I bought yarn – at least 3 months – oh my god that’s why I’m feeling unscrewed at the moment!)

Even better, its my mum’s birthday this weekend so I’m dragging her along to a knitting jewellry workshop at BaaRamEwe in Harrogate. Mum is really a quilter but can knit so I hope she doesn’t think the day out is entirely for my benefit!

So hopefully there’ll be some lovely photos to show you soon 🙂

Gallery | This entry was posted in My personal ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

