Marbling books with the Tarts

I have to confess I had amazing fun last night. Having done a few random activities recently where I found myself with older groups of people I was starting to wonder if I wasn’t really a 70 year old trapped in a 30 year old’s body. There’s nothing wrong with older people, its just a bit disconcerting to realise all the things I’m interested in and sign up for are generally frequented by people much older than me.

Anyway, back to yesterday. I rushed home from work, a bit fed up having been stuck in traffic for ages. I very nearly collapsed in front of the TV and gave up on moving again for the evening, but instead I nuked some leftovers and legged it back out of the house before I could change my mind.

And I’m glad I did. I went to the local Women’s Institute meeting. Yes, I thought it would be full of the over 50s too; the WI certainly has a perception of being for older ladies. But I went with the impression that any group that is called Tea and Tarts and is on twitter can’t really be that old; or if they are they are cool nonetheless.

I had a fab night. We met ina real ale shop/bar in town and as I walked in I knew I had found that rare group of funky young women who like what I like. I’m not a member of the WI but this was an open session for their craft night. Craft night, in a pub?! Count me in!

The session was on marbling and book binding. So we spent the night dunking card into baths of water and oil based paint to create the marbled covers. These were then given a blast with a hairdryer before being cut and pads created. I have to be honest this was the simplest workshop I’ve been to in ages as the only tricky bit was sewing the paper and card together.

They’re not the neatest but will do for little stocking fillers for family at Christmas (oops I’ve said the C word! 🙂 )

IMG_1145 IMG_1146 IMG_1151 IMG_1158 IMG_1152 IMG_1149 IMG_1154

Gallery | This entry was posted in Things I've made and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Marbling books with the Tarts

  1. andresue says:

    Very cool little books you’ve made. And, how nice to find a group that has the same interests and is in the same age bracket! 😀

  2. Jenny says:

    In Ireland we have the Irish Country Women’s Association, the ICA. I love the look of the books, it sounds like great fun making them!

Leave a Reply

