Wool galore!

I’ve been a bit lax in knitting recently (as lax as my blogging!), distracted by a week away to visit friends.  I had a couple of days in Dublin and found a gorgeous woolshop called This is Knit which has a fantastic selection of Irish hand spun and dyed yarns so it would have been rude not to have bought something. I make it a personal mission to buy local-ish yarns whenever I visit somewhere so I love these type of woolshops. There was a fantastic selection but I settled on this one, which is hand dyed and a mix of Merino and Silk yarns. Ooooo squidgy gorgeousness and purple too!

IMG_1803

My half finished socks did come with me but I didn’t really make significant progress but I’m hoping to soon as they are intended as a Christmas present.

When I’ve been at home I’ve been flitting between a few projects; the shawl I’ve been working on since summer might need dedicated time at Christmas as there has been no progress on this recently. I started a Sirdar waterfall cardigan too, but I don’t feel like I’m making much progress with the endless stocking stitch, though I do love this yarn.

IMG_1807

I have also started a gorgeous cowl, which I’m not far off finishing. Its a great pattern for knitting in front of the TV as it a very easy and repetitive. I’m not knitting it quite as long as it is intended as I only bought one ball of Noro Silk Garden lite and one ball of Louisa Harding Orielle (gorgeous twinkly white and super soft). I’m thinking I might knit another of these for my mum for Christmas as its simple and quick enough and I have plenty of yarn in my stash which would do for this.

IMG_1806

As you can imagine I’ve been thinking of little things I can make for Christmas presents as I am running out of time to do anything big! My brother’s girlfriend and her sister are getting bracelets similar to the ones I made at the Baaramewe workshop – except pink as I had some of this yarn lying around.

IMG_1809

I have also done very well this week with acquiring some of a friend’s de-stash – 48 balls of 100% Shetland wool! Lucky me! And that wasn’t the entire stash she gave away either. Not a clue what I am going to make with it (or when) but it was too good to say no.

IMG_1805

Gallery | This entry was posted in My personal ramblings, Things I've made and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Wool galore!

  1. The colours in that cowl are amazing

  2. Oh my that cowl is GORGEOUS!! Always good to know about yarn stores in case of travels. Someone needs to make a directory!!

  3. bonnyknits says:

    Oh, I must make one of those cowls! It truly is gorgeous. Love the rainbow yarn peeking through the white. What a yummy yarny post today. 🙂

  4. Yay for stash yarn. Beautiful projects in progress.

  5. lollyknits says:

    I love that cowl! So vibrant and pretty 🙂

  6. dayanaknits says:

    Wow, look at those Shetland colors! Add in some grays and you can get some great patterns going for a fair-isle.

Leave a Reply

