Spring craft challenge – Cabbage Caterpillar

Having joined the Craft Challenge my first post is under the theme ‘Spring time Craft’. I have to be honest this left me with far too many ideas of things to make.

I’ve spent too much of my thinking on sewing recently, so I thought I’d have another go at crocheting- that elusive yarn craft that I’ve failed to master. Then I wasted an hour and some yellow yarn trying to do a daffodil. I quickly remembered why I don’t crochet. So back to knitting!

So this month is in honour of the humble caterpillar. They will grace my garden in a few months, and eat all the vegetables that I have just down before I get to eat them.

I should add this is a slightly modified version of the caterpillar found in Lesley Stansfield’s 75 Birds, Butterflies and Beautiful Beasties book, which I’ve had ages and not got around to knitting from. There’s some gorgeous creatures in here and all are good for using up scraps of yarn.

IMG_3910

So to create the cabbage caterpillar you need 2 different colours of green yarn and two sizes of knitting needles. I went for DK yarn, so my caterpillar is much bigger than any I’d ever want to find in my garden!

Using the larger needle and the darker green yarn, cast on 5 sts.

1st row: (rs) Purl in front and back of stitch to increase (pfb), purl 2, pfb, purl 1.

2nd and 4th row: knit across

3rd row: Pfb, purl 4, pfb, purl 1.

5th row: knit

6th row: purl

7th row: purl

8th row: knit

9th row: purl

10th row: knit.

IMG_3872

Right, now you need to repeat rows 5-10 3 more times, and then rows 5 and 6 once more.

IMG_3877

31st row: purl1, purl 2 together (p2tog), purl 3, p2tog, purl 1

32nd row: knit

33rd row: purl 1, P2tog, purl 1, p2tog, purl 1

Cast off knitwise – you now have your body!!

IMG_3879

Now you need to create the legs.

Using the smaller needles and the lighter yarn, with the right side facing, pick up 23 stitches evenly from along the side of the body. If you’ve not done this before you need to be picking up the in the gap of knit stitches or the bobble on the end of purl stitches.  But don’t worry too much, this is only a caterpillar not a gorgeous jumper neckline, this is the place to get it wrong!! Just make sure you have 23 stitches that are roughly even. Here’s a youtube if you’re worried.

IMG_3895

Knit 1 row then purl 1 row.

Purl 1, (yarn over, p2tog) repeat this to the end.

IMG_3898

Knit 1 row, purl 1 row.

Right this bit I found fiddly. You need to be knitting this section to the inside of the caterpillar. I found this easier to to by picking up the first light green loop on the inside of the knitting, placing this on the left needle and then knitting 2 stitches together.

IMG_3901

You need to keep doing this all the way along the caterpillar’s body until you have joined it to the inside.

IMG_3903

Then cast off purlwise.

Look you have feet!!

You need do the same again on the other side of the body.

IMG_3905

Finally sew the cast off edges together to create the bottom of the caterpillar, stuffing it as you go with waste yarn or cotton wool. Sew the ends together when he’s suitably stuffed and find some beads or sequins for his eyes.

Ta dah!

IMG_3910

Here’s the links to the other bloggers craft challenges:

makesomethingmondays – DIY planters

Apopofred– wire flower wall hanging

Gallery | This entry was posted in Techniques, Things I've made and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring craft challenge – Cabbage Caterpillar

  1. jrenken88 says:

    That is so cute! That would make a great decoration to add to a potted plant for mother’s day.

  2. this I cannot resist, so guess what I am making tonight………lovely post!

  3. Sarah says:

    I love this! That is so cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

