Super tote bag

You’ve heard the grumbles of me complaining about sewing. So it will come as no surprise that I didn’t finish my super tote bag in the workshop I did last Saturday, but then I never expected to sew a whole bag in a day.

The workshop at Simply Solids was great and provided a lot of firsts for me. First time I’ve interfaced so much fabric as we spent much of the morning cutting and ironing. I can’t remember the last time I ironed so much!

First time I’ve done something with so much construction – I’m not mathematical naturally and certainly not an engineer naturally so this took a lot of thinking. The pattern is really well written, but for someone with basic sewing skills having someone tell me when to do a 1/2 inch or 1/4 inch seam was useful.

It was the first time I’ve been less worried about neatness in cutting out or tracing templates as it doesn’t matter too much with bags (its not fitting a body where a slight misshape will be noticeable).

And finally it was the first time I’ve made piping, which happened to be really easy with the sew and stick tape.

Look at my bag with its lovely interior pockets!!

 

   IMG_4733-0

IMG_4737 IMG_4739IMG_4747 IMG_4749 IMG_4751 IMG_4760

Gallery | This entry was posted in Techniques, Things I've made and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Super tote bag

  1. Yay YOU! I’ve been wanting to make a bag with a zipper closure but haven’t done it yet; still working on pouches (baby steps!).

  2. apopofred says:

    Wow that is a lot of learning in a short amount of time and it definitely paid off! Enjoy your new tote!

Leave a Reply

