Finally finished foxglove!

It’s taken a long time to knit this gorgeous cardigan. I love Kate Davies designs and having never done a fair isle garment I thought this would be a good first project as there’s not too much colour work.

It has however been a bit of a test! Firstly the jamieson and smith yarn is beautiful but very thin for 4 ply so this took ages to knit. Secondly, I need entertaining in my projects and there’s a lot of plain coloured stocking stitch in this, which I thought was good initially. But it’s hard to feel progression, so I was very excited to reach the yoke.

Until I realised how complicated three colour fair isle is! How on earth are you really meant to cope with three balls of wool at once! I thought I would get confused with Kate’s suggestion of slipping one of the colour on the first round and then just knitting that on the second time around, effectively knitting each round twice. So I persevered with three colours at once. Slowly. Unfortunately as I’m new to colour work the yoke has come out a little tight.

IMG_5348 IMG_5357

I steeked it using Ann kingstone’s method as it seems less bulky though I reinforced it first, just in case!

IMG_5358   IMG_5365

IMG_5368 IMG_5369

Once steeked and I’d recovered my breath, it just needed button bands adding and some lovely buttons sewing on. Look how pretty it is!! I thought about covering the steeked edge with ribbon, but in the end I don’t think it needs it, I’ve just lightly sewn it down. I can’t imagine jamisons rough wool will unravel, it’s like Velcro.

There’s only one problem now, it’s far to warm to wear it….

IMG_5827 IMG_5828

Gallery | This entry was posted in Techniques, Things I've made and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finally finished foxglove!

  1. Polo says:

    That’s beautiful. Good job on the steeking; I really want to try that.

  2. salpal1 says:

    wow! It is beautiful, what a great job! I am terrified of steeking and work hard to avoid it. 🙂

  3. soknitsome says:

    Great work and lovely colours!

  4. Noémie says:

    You’re so brave! I haven’t done any of Kate’s cardigans yet, precisely because of the steek…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

