December patchwork challenge – red four corners

Happy Christmas!! I’m jetting off on holiday very soon so this is the last you’ll hear from me in 2015. So happy new year too!!

Here is the final patchwork pattern for this year which by some fluke I’ve managed to finish in time for this post.

Four corners

It wasn’t too tricky to make but that’s not to suggest I’ve made the best job of it. I will never manage to do a patchwork square entirely perfect with all the seams lining up. I have however learnt a valuable lesson in not caring too much, which I didn’t have at the start of the year.

image

So, having made it to December I now have 12 gorgeous blocks done. Having no idea at the start of the year on what the patterns would be and little experience matching colours and patterns I stuck to single colour blocks. I’m glad I did as i love the rainbow effect I now have.

I just have to figure out how to make them into a quilt now!!

image

At the start of the year I also set myself the challenge to knit something a month, which I’m confident I’ve done having knitted 15 things this year (and I’m taking socks with me to make on the plane). Looking back on my January post, I also suggested knitting from my stash where possible- I’m not sure I’ve really done this very often, as although some of the Christmas presents I’ve made were from my stash but I’ve also bought a fair bit of yarn too this year. Oh well, it’s medicinal sometimes, right?

The read a book a month challenge has not gone so well, with quite a few books I’ve failed to finish. I started well in January finishing Gone Girl and Eat Pray Love, both good books. February I didn’t finish Virginia Woolf’s Orlando though in March I did finish First they killed my Father; it was good but I’d read Survival in the Killing Fields last year which was more heart rending.

April I didn’t read a thing. Oops. I made up for it in May with The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce which is really funny and Honour by Elif Shafak which is a good read though I had to pay attention as it flits between different time periods.

June I failed to read a book, but again made up for it in July with Neither Nowt nor Summat by Ian MacMillan which was very funny, though mostly as I live in Yorkshire so can related to the snippets of tales from local places. I also read Little Green Man by Simon Armitage which was not what I expected as it is a tale about male friends daring each other to do more and more outlandish things, with a twist. Good but disgusting in places.

August no book read, and September I started Patagonia Express by Paul Theroux but didn’t finish it despite reading about 3/4 of it. It’s about a man travelling down the coast of America into South America, it just didn’t grip me and as much as I love tales of travel it didn’t hold my attention.

October I read Crow Mountain which was really a teen fiction book so a quick read. November nothing read, but I’m almost finished Catherine Destivelle’s autobiography Rock Queen for my December book. She’s one of my idols being a rock climbing legend so to get her to sign the book a few weeks ago at the Kendal Film Festival was fantastic. So that’s 9 books finished and 2 unfinished, so that’s not too bad to say I’d not been reading much prior to the new year.

So whatever you pick for your new year challenges don’t be too hard on yourself if you don’t stick rigidly to them, it’s more important to have a go. Happy new year to you all.

Gallery | This entry was posted in My personal ramblings, Things I've made and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December patchwork challenge – red four corners

  1. Wow! I love how all your blocks look together! I’ll work on the December block this weekend. I didn’t make the November block yet because I wasn’t sure if you were still going to get one from Helen?

    • Oh I’m away from the Internet soon – Helen did give me another block but I won’t be able to share this until January now … I’ve not done it yet either so perhaps that can be a bonus new year block- especially for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

